Linda Amato
3 min readOct 10, 2024

Transform Grief into Strength: Embrace the Journey!

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

The Sorrow is Unbelievable to Embrace for Children!

This past week, I was blasted to my past when I received a call that a young mother of three children had transitioned. She went to sleep on Monday night and did not wake up on Tuesday. Why? Why? Why? is the greatest of unanswered questions for the children, her husband, mother, cousins, family, and friends.

As I am an outsider because my daughter was married to her cousin and shared sports with her for their children, tears flowed. The mystery of life is that there are no answers to such a time. Is this her karma, the reason she chose this time, or is it simply an action she took as a teacher to take the ‘shot?’

I felt their pain and cried for them as the human mind goes back suddenly to when my brother was killed in 1988 by a drunk driver on his way home from work. My mother was never the same! It took me six years of grieving to comprehend that I had no control over who lives and when they die because my nephew and brother’s oldest son was taken from us in 1996 by someone with a gun.

How does one explain to the children that this is the life we live, and we all get to die? Her eight-year-old daughter told her grandmother she had to be her mom now. The strength we need does surface, but it will take time to embrace, grieve, and…

Linda Amato

I AM Loving Life! I live a full experience by following my inner guidance. Writing and Reading are nourishment for my soul. Being of service to others is key!